Creating, Editing & Deactivating a User Account
  • 16 Nov 2022
  • 4 Minutes to read
  • Dark
    Light

Creating, Editing & Deactivating a User Account

  • Dark
    Light

Who can use this feature?
  🌐 ✔️ MES (v6.3.5, v6.5) ✔️ AWI (v6.5) ✔️ LES (v6.5) ✔️ Tandem (v6.4, v6.5)
  💻 Web app
  👤 System and Business Admin users


In the Tempo Manufacturing Cloud, users must be configured in the platform before they gain access to the system. Invitations to the system are sent to each user via email once their details are completed by the system or business administrator.

After users are configured, they are associated with User Groups, which determines the type of security access a user has when interacting with the platform. Review the sections below to learn how to create, edit, or deactivate user accounts in the Tempo web application.

VERSION NOTE:
Small changes to specific field names described in this article occurred between Tempo v6.3 and v6.5; alternate field names are noted as applicable and do not impact feature functionality.

NOTE:

To import users in bulk using the CSV template method, please reach out to your Customer Support Manager (CSM) or the Apprentice Support team at support@apprentice.io.

This article covers the following topics:

Creating a new user account

VERSION NOTE:
This article reflects Tempo v6.5. If you are using an earlier version, skip step 1 and hover over the left navigation panel.

  1. From the left navigation panel, click settings Platform > Users.
  2. Click Add new user.
  3. Enter the required information in the User Info fields:
    • First Name
    • Last Name
    • Email
  4. (OPTIONAL) If you are adding a user who works outside of your organization (e.g., a vendor or other external partner), select the Tandem External User (or External User) toggle (Tandem-only setting).
    • If selected, a Temporary Password field displays. It is recommended you use the following requirements to create a temporary system password for the external user:
      • Must contain at least eight characters
      • Must not contain a previously used password
      • Must contain at least one number
      • Must contain an upper and lowercase letter
      • Must contain at least one special character
    • If a password is created, share the details with the user via a secure messaging platform. Then, instruct the user to change their password upon logging in to the system for the first time.
  5. Click the User Configuration tab to enable or disable user settings.
    • System Flags:
      • Active: Read-only field. Enabled by default. Identifies if the account is active or deactivated.
      • Account Locked: Read-only field. Identifies if the account is locked.
      • MFA User Enabled: In v6.3.5, the toggle is disabled by default. In v6.5, if single sign-on (SSO) is enabled for the organization, the MFA toggle does not display. If SSO is not enabled, the MFA toggle is read-only.
        When creating a new user, since MFA is already enabled, the toggle is greyed out.
    • User Configuration (Tandem-only settings):
      • Enable Annotations: Enabled by default. Allows the user to utilize in-session Tandem tools such as Draw, Zoom, HD Screenshot, and more.
      • Enable Recording: Enabled by default. Allows the user to record a Tandem session.
  6. Click the User Permissions tab to select account permissions.
    • Select a User Group for this user to be assigned in the system. For more information on User Groups, refer to the User Groups Overview article.
NOTES:
  • If you selected the Tandem External User (or External User) toggle in step 4, that role overrides any other permissions and will prevent any user who is assigned that role from accessing additional system functionality. If you need to select a group that must include the Tandem External role, create a Tandem External group as a separate standalone group from the additional roles.
  • More than one group can be selected at a time.
  1. Click Add.

Editing a user account

VERSION NOTE:
This article reflects Tempo v6.5. If you are using an earlier version, skip step 1 and hover over the left navigation panel.

NOTES:
  • While this capability is only accessible to system or business admins, admins are unable to edit or modify their own user details. In this case, another admin in their organization must do so on their behalf.
  • Any changes made to the user's details will be updated and tracked in the Creation Logs. For more information on viewing Creation Logs, refer to the Creation Logs Overview article.
  1. From the left navigation panel, click settings Platform > Users.
  2. Locate the user whose details you want to edit, then click their First Name from the list.
  3. Click the User Info, User Configuration, and/or User Permissions tabs to locate and change the user's details, as relevant.
  4. Click Save.

Deactivating a user account

VERSION NOTE:
This article reflects Tempo v6.5. If you are using an earlier version, skip step 1 and hover over the left navigation panel.

NOTE:
  • When a system or business admin deactivates a user, the user's details remain in the system but their account will not be active.
  • Any changes made to the user's details will be updated and tracked in the Creation Logs. For more information, refer to the Creation Logs Overview article.
  1. From the left navigation panel, click settings Platform > Users.
  2. Locate the user whose account you want to deactivate, then click their First Name from the list.
  3. Click the User Configuration tab. The Active toggle displays as enabled.
  4. Toggle Active to deactivate the user.
  5. Click Save.
NOTE:

Upon saving, if the deactivated user attempts to log in to the Tempo Manufacturing Cloud, the below error displays:
Deactivated Account.png


Was this article helpful?